Call us on 9200 2222 6 to discuss products or applications

Air Filtration Standards

Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book. It has survived not only five centuries, but also the leap into electronic typesetting, remaining essentially unchanged. It was popularised in the 1960s with the release of Letraset sheets containing Lorem Ipsum passages, and more recently with desktop publishing software like Aldus PageMaker including versions of Lorem Ipsum.


ASHRAE Standard 52.2 was created by a group of air filter distributors, manufacturers and engineers. It is a result of more than 10 years of development and improvement in the field of air filtration testing and performance measuring. It provides a method of testing air cleaning devices to assist end users and HVAC consultants select the appropriate air filtration system for their specific needs.

EN 779: 2012

The new standard, launched 2012, classifies filters into three Groups: G group - Coarse filters: classified G1, G2, G3, and G4. M group - Medium filters: classified M5 and M6. F group - Fine filters: classified F7, F8, and F9. G group filters are rated based on their average arrestance and dust holding capacity (Gravimetric / Weight) where the determination of dust holding capacity for F and M group filters will be an indicator of filter lifespan.

EN779: 2002

The European Committee for Standardization established a new standard in 2002 to classify filter performance by introducing Standard EN779:2002.
Developed from EN779:1993, the newer standard maintained its classification in F and G groups, and determined average efficiency based on particles that are 0.4 μm (using liquid DEHS) as follows: Filters Average Efficiency < 40% = Group G. Filters Average Efficiency > 40% = Group F.

EN 1822: 2009

Standard EN1822:2009 improved on EN 1822:1998 by including leakage testing and classifies membrane type filters and synthetic fibers as follows: EPA 10 to EPA 12: Efficiency Particulate Air Filters. HEPA 13 to HEPA 14: High Efficiency Particulate Air Filters. ULPA 15 to ULPA 17: Ultra Low Penetration Air Filters.

What next: